New Law Gives Townships Option to Change Names Through Vote

A new law signed into effect recently by Gov. Whitmer gives Michigan townships the option to change their name through a vote of the people. Previously, only cities and villages in Michigan had the same authority.

Under Public Act 97 of 2021, a township can change its name if a two-thirds majority of the township governing board approves a resolution. The resolution would then need to be approved by a majority of township voters during an August or November regular election.

A township may consider changing its name for a variety of reasons. For example, some townships have duplicate names that create confusion. According to the Michigan Townships Association, 28 percent of townships in Michigan share a name with another municipality in the state.

Macomb County’s New Haven shares its name with a smaller community located six miles north of Owosso. Likewise, there are two communities in Michigan with the name Troy. Along with Oakland County’s Troy, there is a Troy Township in Newaygo County.

Help is available

The attorneys at O’Reilly Rancilio have assisted municipalities in southeast Michigan for more than 30 years. To learn more or to speak to a governmental law attorney, please call 586-726-1000 or visit our website.

Categories: Municipal